Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

24 hours to vote for United's best goal of 2016

27 February 2017

The EFL have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year of 2016 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of the Blades goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We can nominate one goal from any EFL competition in the 2016 calendar year, to include goals scored in the Sky Bet EFL, the EFL Cup and the Checkatrade Trophy.

We want you, the fans to help us decide our club nomination. Watch the five shortlisted goals in the video above (or on YouTube), make your choice and then vote by 'liking' your chosen goal on the YouTube or Twitter links below.

Our nomination must be submitted to the EFL by Wednesday 1st March, so you have until the end of February to pick your favourite. Our nominated goal will be the one with the most likes across both social media platforms.

Goal A: Billy Sharp v Walsall, 2nd April 2016
To vote, 'like' on YouTube or Twitter.

Goal B: Chris Basham @ Scunthorpe, 24th September 2016
To vote, 'like' on YouTube or Twitter.

Goal C: Billy Sharp @ Shrewsbury, 18th October 2016
To vote, 'like' on YouTube or Twitter.

Goal D: Billy Sharp @ Bradford, 22nd October 2016
To vote, 'like' on YouTube or Twitter.

Goal E: Regan Slater @ Grimsby, 9th November 2016
To vote, 'like' on YouTube or Twitter.

Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the EFL Awards on Sunday 9th April 2017 at The Hilton Hotel on Park Lane, London. A judging panel will then review the goals with a selection being shown on Channel 5's Football on Five Goal Rush. Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at 9th April 2017.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been:
Marco Matias (Sheffield Wednesday, 2015)
Joe Garner (Preston North End, 2014)
Franck Moussa (Coventry City, 2013)
Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest, 2012)
Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City, 2011)
Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010)
Nicky Maynard (Bristol City, 2009)
Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers, 2008)
Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United, 2007)
Joe Ledley (Cardiff City, 2006)
Stefan Oakes (Notts County, 2005)

Advertisement block