Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Blades quintet named in PFA Team of the Year

20 April 2017

To highlight United's impressive season, five players have been named in the PFA League One Team of the Year.

The PFA Divisional Teams of the Year have been announced ahead of the 44th PFA Awards, to be held in the Grosvenor House in London on Sunday 23rd April 2017.

PFA members have been voting and in the League One category, the team is:

The PFA League One Team of the Year, sponsored by Panini:

• Goalkeeper - Simon Moore (Sheffield United)
• Defender - Kieron Freeman (Sheffield United)
• Defender - Mark Beevers (Bolton Wanderers)
• Defender - David Wheater (Bolton Wanderers)
• Defender - James Meredith (Bradford City)
• Midfielder - Mark Duffy (Sheffield United)
• Midfielder - John Fleck (Sheffield United)
• Midfielder - Josh Morris (Scunthorpe United)
• Midfielder - Erhun Oztumer (Walsall)
• Forward - Billy Sharp (Sheffield United)
• Forward - James Vaughan (Bury)

The PFA Awards celebrate the best of English football in an evening attended by hundreds of current professional stars of the game, to recognise the outstanding performers in every division.

PFA Chief Executive, Gordon Taylor OBE: "The PFA Awards is always a special occasion and one of the biggest nights in football's social calendar.

"For the winners who are honoured at the awards, there can be no greater personal accolade than that of being recognised by your peers; an honour to be cherished."

Advertisement block