Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

United in celebration

29 September 2014

Celebrating 125 years

Saturday's glittering 125th anniversary dinner was a magnificent occasion.

Of course, Tony Currie was named United's greatest-ever player on Saturday night at a sell-out 1,200 audience at the Ponds Forge International Sports Centre.

Currie beat Phil Jagielka (second) and Brian Deane (third) to take the top honour and as well as a sparkling evening of entertainment, many other awards were presented, including former captain Eddie Colquhoun receiving a long overdue Scotland cap after the Blades made contact with the Scottish FA.

Other awards included...

Greatest Goal (sponsored by DBL Logistics):
Winner - Michael Brown, v Sheff Wed, 2003

Greatest Captain (sponsored CJCT):
Winner - Chris Morgan

Greatest Manager (sponsored by Pyramid Carpets):
Winner - Dave Bassett

Special Award (sponsored by Westfield Health):
Winner - Joe Shaw, record appearance maker (received by daughters Pamela and Yvonne)

Greatest Away Shirt (sponsored by Burnley Wilson Fish):
Winner - 1989-91 Umbro luminous green

Greatest United Team (sponsored by Shout):
Winner - Team of 2002-03

Special Award (sponsored by Pinders):
Winner - The McCabe family

Most Memorable Blades Game Ever (sponsored by Sytner):
Winner - 2003 Play-Off semi-final v Nottingham Forest.

Also part of the evening was a countdown of United's top 20 players - as voted by the fans with special voting slips at Bramall Lane.
The top 20 were...

1. Tony Currie
2. Phil Jagielka
3. Brian Deane
4. Joe Shaw
5. Alan Woodward
6. Jimmy Hagan
7. Chris Morgan
8. Keith Edwards
9. Len Badger
10. Michael Brown
11. Alan Hodgkinson MBE
12. Alex Sabella
13. Simon Tracey
14. Dane Whitehouse
15. Mick Jones
16. Paul Stancliffe
17. Graham Shaw
18. Stuart McCall
19. William Foulke
20. Colin Morris

In addition, a panel of United experts also attempted to come up with top teams for different eras. The lists below are subjective but were put together to mark the 125 celebrations.

William 'Fatty' Foulke, Harry Thickett, 'old' Harry Johnson, Bill Brelsford, Harry Hooper, Walter Bennett, Ernest 'Nudger' Needham, Fred Tunstall, Billy Gillespie, Jock Dodds, 'young' Harry Johnson.

1940s & 1950s:
Ted Burgin, Fred Furniss, Harry Latham, Ernest Jackson, Albert Cox, Alf Ringstead, Alex Forbes, Harold Brook, Derek Hawksworth, Colin Collindridge, Jimmy Hagan.

Alan Hodgkinson, Cec Coldwell, Joe Shaw, Gerry Summers, Graham Shaw, Gil Reece, Keith Kettleborough, Ron Simpson, Mick Jones, Alan Birchenall, Doc Pace.

Steve Conroy, Len Badger, Eddie Colquhoun, John Flynn, Ted Hemsley, Alan Woodward, Trevor Hockey, Alex Sabella, Geoff Salmons, Tony Currie, Bill Dearden.

Simon Tracey, John MacPhail, Paul Stancliffe, Tony Kenworthy, Paul Garner, Colin Morris, Mike Trusson, Peter Beagrie, Brian Deane, Keith Edwards, Tony Agana.

Alan Kelly, Vass Borbokis, David Holdsworth, Brian Gayle, Paul Beesley, Carl Bradshaw, Bob Booker, Dane Whitehouse, Glyn Hodges, Paul Devlin, Ian Bryson.

Paddy Kenny, Phil Jagielka, Chris Morgan, Robert Page, Rob Kozluk, Nick Montgomery, Stuart McCall, Michael Brown, Michael Tonge, James Beattie, Paul Peschisolido.

Advertisement block