Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Numbers game

7 August 2012

The Blades have today announced their squad numbers for the 2012/13 season. The new summer signings all have their allocated numbers, whilst there are a number of changes for the existing players.

As expected Mark Howard takes over the number one jersey following the departure of Steve Simonsen, whilst Darryl Westlake takes over the number 2 following Matt Lowton's transfer. Former Skipper Chris Morgan's retirement means Harry Maguire has taken the number 5 shirt.

Kevin McDonald will be wear 11 and Ryan Flynn will play in the 7 shirt, while Stephen Quinn will retain his favourite number 28 jersey.

Tony McMahon, who scored the opening goal at Morecambe on Saturday has been given the same number he had at Middlesbrough - 29.

Players who have progressed through to the first team squad from the Academy are numbered in the new list, Joe Ironside, who has netted twice in the Blades summer games has the number 24 while Callum McFazdean, who has featured in a number of pre-season games, has number 26.

The full confirmed list is below.

1. Mark Howard
2. Darryl Westlake
3. Lecsinel Jean-Francois
4. Nick Montgomery
5. Harry Maguire
6. Matt Hill
7. Ryan Flynn
8. Michael Doyle
9. Chris Porter
11. Kevin McDonald
12. Shaun Miller
15. Neill Collins
16. David McAllister
17. Richard Cresswell
18. Matty Harriott
19. John Cofie
20. Erik Tonne
21. Jordan Chapell
22. Danny Philliskirk
24. Joe Ironside
25. George Long
26. Callum McFadzean
27. Elliott Whitehouse
28. Stephen Quinn
29. Tony McMahon
30. Marcus Williams
32. Terry Kennedy
33. Aaron Barry

Advertisement block